2012 Stumptown Comics Fest - Click for More Info

« Stumptown Comics Festival Announces Exhibitor Registration for 10th Annual Event | Main | 2013 Stumptown Comics Fest Guest Profile - Bill Willingham »

Stumptown Comics, Inc. Names New Communications Chair and Treasurer

As the Stumptown Comics Fest gears up for its 10th anniversary show in April 2013, the Portland-based nonprofit group that manages it, Stumptown Comics, Inc., is growing to meet the festival's evolving goals. To help expand its reach and engage with the comics community, Stumptown recently named Aaron Duran to serve in the new position of Communications Chair, and Paula Small as the new Treasurer.

"The people behind Stumptown Comics, Inc. are working harder than ever to realize our goal of fostering a wider appreciation of comic books and their benefits," says board Chair Shawna Gore. "We're fortunate to have people like Aaron and Paula joining the board. Aaron has been an integral part of Portland's comics community for years. His love and enthusiasm for comics, and for the people who create and enjoy them, are as strong as his ability to communicate that enthusiasm. Paula brings extensive skills in financial management from her tenure at KBOO Community Radio, and we couldn't be more excited to work with her."

In addition to her work with KBOO, Paula has volunteered at the Stumptown Comics Fest and understands the challenges and excitement that comes with such an important comic book festival. Aaron Duran has worn many hats within the comics world, including those of retailer, critic, and creator. Together, their well-rounded experience will help Stumptown Comics, Inc. achieve its ambitious goals.

The 10th annual Stumptown Comics Fest will be held at the Oregon Convention Center in Portland on April 27 and 28, 2013. Comics legend Bill Willingham, creator of Vertigo's popular Fables series, is but the first of many fantastic guests attendees can expect at the 2013 Stumptown Comics Fest. Look for more exciting announcements in the coming weeks.

Posted November 12, 2012 at 8:42 AM | Permalink
Current and Upcoming Events
Submit your events to

Warning: file_get_contents(http://search.twitter.com/search.atom?q=from%3Astumptowncomics&rpp=3): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/stumptown_comics/stumptowncomics.com/2012/11/stumptown-comics-names-new-board-members.php on line 492
Follow @Stumptowncomics!

Stumptown Comics, Inc.
Board of Directors

Shawna Gore
Nicolle Farup

Pollyanne Birge

Aaron Duran

Anina Bennett
Paula Small

Shannon Stewart

Charles Brownstein